Nelson arts Festival logo



Crime writer Alan Carter interrogates Steve Braunias and Jared Savage, two of Aotearoa's best journalists, about their new true crime books.

In Missing Persons, Aotearoa's award-winning master of non-fiction, Steve Braunias, brings to life 12 extraordinary tales of disappearance, which didn't end well: former journalist Murray Mason; the mysterious death of Socksay Chansy; the tragic disappearance of backpacker Grace Millane; the enduring mystery of the Lundy family murders and more.

In Gangland: New Zealand's Underworld of Organised Crime, award-winning investigative reporter Jared Savage shines a light into New Zealand's rising underworld of criminal networks; stories which go behind the headlines and open the door to a world where millions of dollars are made and allegiances change like the flick of a switch.

Chaired by Alan Carter.

Thanks to HarperCollins

Steve Braunias 

Steve Braunias is a well-known writer who works for the New Zealand Herald, serves as books editor at Newsroom, and is life president of the Hamilton Press Club. He has won over 50 national writing awards and is the author of 10 books, including Civilisation (winner of the 2013 NZ Post award for best book of non-fiction) and The Scene of the Crime, published by HarperCollins in 2015.

Jared Savage 

Jared Savage is an investigative reporter for the New Zealand Herald who has won journalism awards every year since 2010, including twice being named Senior Reporter of the Year (2010, 2015). He has written about education, health, local body politics, sport and crime, as well as reporting on the natural disasters of the Christchurch earthquakes and the tsunami in Samoa. Jared has a Bachelor of Communications Studies from AUT. He was also awarded the prestigious Hegarty Award at 2015 PANPA awards in Sydney as the outstanding young news publishing executive. Gangland is his first book. 


He lives in Tauranga with his wife and two young children.

Alan Carter 

Alan Carter was born in Sunderland, UK. He immigrated to Australia in 1991 and now lives just south of Hobart with some time, Covid permitting, living in the Marlborough Sounds. He is the author of four Cato Kwong novels – Prime Cut, Getting Warmer, Bad Seed and Heaven Sent and the Nick Chester novels, Marlborough Man and Doom Creek, which are set in New Zealand. Crocodile Tears is the fifth in the Cato Kwong series. All seven books are published by Fremantle Press.


Sun 24 Oct | 1.30pm

60 min

$13 - $19
Eligible for 5 for $75

Plus service fee 
Buy Tickets

Similar Shows

Sign-up to get the latest festival news

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.